Cell phone ban for teen drivers is in effect
Teen drivers with a Michigan Level 1 or Level 2 Graduated Driver License may not use a mobile/cellular phone while driving to make a call, answer a call, or engage in any verbal communication. Under Kelsey's Law, teens could face up to $295 in fines and costs if ticketed. Click here for more information about Kelsey's Law.
Texting while driving is illegal for all drivers in Michigan (both teen drivers and adult drivers).
Governor Snyder signs bill banning cellphone use by teen drivers
Senate Bill 756 (now Public Act 592 of 2012) bans cellphone use by all drivers on a Level 1 or Level 2 license in Michigan. The new law allows primary enforcement by police and will take effect in late March 2013.
For more information see the news release from michigan.gov
Or, the text of Senate Bill 756
Nationwide survey shows correlation between parents' and teens' distracted driving
The University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute and Toyota Motor Sales USA Inc. surveyed more than 2,600 newly licensed U.S. drivers ages 16-18 and nearly 3,000 parents of drivers in this age group, including 400 pairs of teens and parents from the same households. Parents who were more likely to engage in distracting behaviors while driving (like talking on a cell phone, texting, eating or drinking, looking for something in the vehicle) were more likely to have teens who did the same. A key finding is that what teens think their parents do while driving has a greater impact on teen behavior than what parents actually report they do. This is important because teens think their parents engage in distracted driving more often than may be the case.
For more information see these articles:
"Driver distraction: Do as I say, not as I do (or what you think I do)"
"Are you a good driver? Ask your teenager"
May-June 2012 statewide Click It or Ticket campaign launched
The Michigan State Police/Office of Highway Safety Planning have launched a new statewide Click It or Ticket campaign. The effort includes a new ad campaign and safety belt enforcement zones throughout the state from May 22 - June 4.
For the first time, the campaign includes ads specifically directed at a teen audience; teens and young men (age 16-29) are the two groups least likely to wear seat belts. The new campaign also includes more areas conducting safety belt enforcement zones than past campaigns.
Michigan's New Teen Driving Laws Took Effect March 30th, 2011!
Beginning March 30, 2011 all Michigan teens driving on a Level 2 license have two new restrictions:
1) A new passenger restriction prevents teens from having more than 1 passenger under the age of 21
2) Driving between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. is prohibited unless driving to or from employment, or with a parent, legal guardian, or licensed adult over 21 years old.
For more information about these new restrictions check out this special website provided by the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning:
Teens Do Better With Parents Who Set Limits
Studies show parents who keep set boundaries make a huge difference to their childrens' health and well being. Teen drivers whose parents set and enforced rules were more likely to wear seat belts and less likely to speed, get in crashes, drink and drive, or use cellphones while driving.
MI Senate Passes House Measure to Change Teen Driving Laws
The Michigan Senate passed House Bill No. 4493 on Thursday, December 2, 2010. Under the bill, new teen drivers would face new restrictions on nighttime driving and carrying teen passengers.
MI House Passes Bill to Change Teen Driving Laws
The Michigan House of Representatives passed House Bill No. 4493 on Wednesday, November 10, 2010. Under the bill, new teen drivers would face new restrictions on nighttime driving and carrying teen passengers.
National Teen Driver Safety Week is Oct. 17-24
October 17 - 24 is National Teen Driver Safety Week and the focus this year is on reducing driver distractions.